Monday, March 13, 2017

--"It's really an example of criminalization of mental illness," said Golden. "The criminal justice system isn't designed to deal with people like Len."------The man's 81-year-old mother, Trixie Van Heest, who Golden said has a very close relationship with her son, sounded distraught when reached by phone. She said she could not talk about the matter anymore and hung up. Former British Columbia premier Ujjal Dosanjh, who also previously served in a federal Liberal cabinet, has written two open letters to the immigration minister about the case.--------It's one of the most mind-boggling things I've seen this government do — totally heartless, without compassion and mercy," Dosanjh said in an interview.---What the heck? --Julie Ali 8 mins · Commenting for Montreal Gazette · Mind boggling case shows that the Federal Liberals are just like the Federal Conservatives--unsympathetic to the fate of the mentally ill citizen. Shameful. Utterly shameful. What do you have to say about this Mr. Trudeau?---"The system is skewed. Mentally ill people should never be deported. It is wrong."------ Immigration Minister Ahmed Hussen is facing calls to reverse the deportation of a 59-year-old man with bipolar disorder who lived in Canada since he was eight months old.

Absolutely disgusting abuse of power by the Liberal Party of Canada. All disability advocates should be yapping day and night to these brainless folks in government who treat the mentally ill as if they had insight into the acts they do.
What the heck is wrong with the people we hire? Can't they use their brains?

LikeShow more reactions
Comment

From: Julie Ali <
Date: Mon, Mar 13, 2017 at 8:33 PM
Subject: -What the heck? --Julie Ali 8 mins · Commenting for Montreal Gazette · Mind boggling case shows that the Federal Liberals are just like the Federal Conservatives--unsympathetic to the fate of the mentally ill citizen. Shameful. Utterly shameful. What do you have to say about this Mr. Trudeau?---"The system is skewed. Mentally ill people should never be deported. It is wrong."------ Immigration Minister Ahmed Hussen is facing calls to reverse the deportation of a 59-year-old man with bipolar disorder who lived in Canada since he was eight months old.
To: justin trudeau <justin.trudeau@parl.gc.ca>, stephanie.cadieux.MLA@leg.bc.ca, hs.ministeris@gov.ab.ca, TracyMacCharles <tmaccharles.mpp.co@liberal.ola.org>, premier@gov.bc.ca, premier@ontario.ca, Office of the Premier <premier@gov.ab.ca>, Airdrie <Airdrie@assembly.ab.ca>, Athabasca SturgeonRedwater <Athabasca.Sturgeon.Redwater@assembly.ab.ca>, Banff Cochrane <Banff.Cochrane@assembly.ab.ca>, Barrhead Morinville Westlock <Barrhead.Morinville.Westlock@assembly.ab.ca>, Battle River-Wainwright <BattleRiver.Wainwright@assembly.ab.ca>, Bonnyville ColdLake <Bonnyville.ColdLake@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Acadia <Calgary.Acadia@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Bow <Calgary.Bow@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Buffalo <Calgary.Buffalo@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Cross <Calgary.Cross@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Currie <Calgary.Currie@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary East <Calgary.East@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Elbow <Calgary.Elbow@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary FishCreek <Calgary.FishCreek@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Foothills <Calgary.Foothills@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Fort <Calgary.Fort@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Glenmore <Calgary.Glenmore@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Greenway <Calgary.Greenway@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Hawkwood <Calgary.Hawkwood@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Hays <Calgary.Hays@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Klein <Calgary.Klein@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Lougheed <Calgary.Lougheed@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Mackay NoseHill <Calgary.Mackay.Nosehill@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary McCall <Calgary.McCall@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary MountainView <Calgary.MountainView@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary NorthWest <Calgary.NorthWest@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary NorthernHills <Calgary.NorthernHills@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Shaw <Calgary.Shaw@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary SouthEast <Calgary.SouthEast@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Varsity <Calgary.Varsity@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary West <Calgary.West@assembly.ab.ca>, Cardston TaberWarner <Cardston.TaberWarner@assembly.ab.ca>, Chestermere Rockyview <Chestermere.Rockyview@assembly.ab.ca>, Cypress MedicineHat <Cypress.MedicineHat@assembly.ab.ca>, Drayton ValleyDevon <DraytonValley.Devon@assembly.ab.ca>, Drumheller Stettler <Drumheller.Stettler@assembly.ab.ca>, Dunvegan CentralPeace Notley <Dunvegan.CentralPeace.Notley@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton BeverlyClareview <Edmonton.BeverlyClareview@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Calder <Edmonton.Calder@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Castledowns <Edmonton.Castledowns@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Centre <Edmonton.Centre@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Decore <Edmonton.Decore@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Ellerslie <Edmonton.Ellerslie@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Glenora <Edmonton.Glenora@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Goldbar <Edmonton.Goldbar@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton HighlandsNorwood <Edmonton.HighlandsNorwood@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Manning <Edmonton.Manning@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton McClung <Edmonton.McClung@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Meadowlark <Edmonton.Meadowlark@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton MillCreek <Edmonton.MillCreek@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Millwoods <Edmonton.Millwoods@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Riverview <Edmonton.Riverview@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Rutherford <Edmonton.Rutherford@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton SouthWest <Edmonton.SouthWest@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Strathcona <Edmonton.Strathcona@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Whitemud <Edmonton.Whitemud@assembly.ab.ca>, FortMcMurray Conklin <Fortmcmurray.Conklin@assembly.ab.ca>, FortMcMurray WoodBuffalo <FortMcMurray.WoodBuffalo@assembly.ab.ca>, Fort Saskatchewan Vegreville <FortSaskatchewan.Vegreville@assembly.ab.ca>, GrandePrairie Smoky <GrandePrairie.Smoky@assembly.ab.ca>, GrandePrairie Wapiti <GrandePrairie.Wapiti@assembly.ab.ca>, Highwood <Highwood@assembly.ab.ca>, Innisfail SylvanLake <Innisfail.SylvanLake@assembly.ab.ca>, LacLaBiche StPaul TwoHills <LacLaBiche.StPaul.TwoHills@assembly.ab.ca>, Lacombe Ponoka <Lacombe.Ponoka@assembly.ab.ca>, Leduc Beaumont <Leduc.Beaumont@assembly.ab.ca>, Lesser SlaveLake <Lesser.SlaveLake@assembly.ab.ca>, Lethbridge East <Lethbridge.East@assembly.ab.ca>, Lethbridge West <Lethbridge.West@assembly.ab.ca>, Little Bow <Little.Bow@assembly.ab.ca>, Livingstone Macleod <Livingstone.Macleod@assembly.ab.ca>, Medicine Hat <Medicine.Hat@assembly.ab.ca>, Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills <OldsDidsbury.ThreeHills@assembly.ab.ca>, Peace River <Peace.River@assembly.ab.ca>, RedDeer North <RedDeer.North@assembly.ab.ca>, RedDeer South <RedDeer.South@assembly.ab.ca>, Rimbey RockyMountainHouse Sundre <Rimbey.RockyMountainhouse.Sundre@assembly.ab.ca>, Sherwood Park <Sherwood.Park@assembly.ab.ca>, Spruce Grove StAlbert <Sprucegrove.StAlbert@assembly.ab.ca>, St Albert <St.Albert@assembly.ab.ca>, Stony Plain <Stony.Plain@assembly.ab.ca>, Strathcona Sherwoodpark <Strathcona.Sherwoodpark@assembly.ab.ca>, Strathmore Brooks <Strathmore.Brooks@assembly.ab.ca>, Vermilion Lloydminster <Vermilion.Lloydminster@assembly.ab.ca>, West Yellowhead <West.Yellowhead@assembly.ab.ca>, Wetaskiwin Camrose <Wetaskiwin.Camrose@assembly.ab.ca>, Whitecourt SteAnne <Whitecourt.SteAnne@assembly.ab.ca>, Sarah Hoffman <Sarah.Hoffman@assembly.ab.ca>, Rachel Notley <Rachel.Notley@assembly.ab.ca>, Brian Jean <Brian.Jean@assembly.ab.ca>, ahs.corp@albertahealthservices.ca, Health.Deputy-Minister@gov.ab.ca, health.minister@gov.ab.ca, Jessica Ernst t>, D Daunheimer <>, Stewart Shields <>, Samanthas Law <>, investigations@metronews.ca, newsroom@globeandmail.com, Joel French <joel.french@pialberta.org>, Sandra Azocar <fominfo@telus.net>, ahs.board@ahs.ca, submit@calgaryherald.com, Lorne Motley <lmotley@calgaryherald.com>, thomas mulcair <thomas.mulcair@parl.gc.ca>, elizabeth may <elizabeth.may@parl.gc.ca>, jason.kenney@parl.gc.ca, Jane.Philpott@parl.gc.ca, Kent.Hehr@parl.gc.ca, Amarjeet.Sohi@parl.gc.ca, verna.yiu@albertahealthservices.ca, info@oag.ab.ca, Kimberly Nishikaze <knishikaze@oag.ab.ca>, kgerein@postmedia.com, SENIORS AT RISK Coalition <sar.coalition@gmail.com>, stephane.dion@parl.gc.ca, Bryan Anderson <bryan.anderson@edmonton.ca>, don iveson <don.iveson@edmonton.ca>, del graff <del.graff@gov.ab.ca>, ralph.goodale@parl.gc.ca, Deborah.Rhodes@ahs.ca, Isaac.VanDyne@ahs.ca, lorinda.prociuk@ahs.ca, Mark.Snaterse@albertahealthservices.ca, trevor.theman@cpsa.ab.ca, publicinquiries@cpsa.ab.ca, sandy.marcynuk@ahs.ca, gloria.wesley@gov.ab.ca, info@ombudsman.ab.ca, Liberal Canada <info@liberal.ca>, Rona Ambrose <rona.ambrose@parl.gc.ca>, Nick.Whalen@parl.gc.ca, Angelo.Iacono@parl.gc.ca, Arnold.Viersen@parl.gc.ca, Sven.Spengemann@parl.gc.ca, Chandra.Arya@parl.gc.ca, "Danette Andersen, Supervisor" <danette.andersen@epsb.ca>, "Michael Janz, Chairman" <Michael.Janz@epsb.ca>, Cheryl.Johner@epsb.ca, Michelle.Draper@epsb.ca, Orville.Chubb@epsb.ca, Ray.Martin@epsb.ca, Ken.Gibson@epsb.ca, bridget.stirling@epsb.ca, Nathan.Ip@epsb.ca, Sherry.Adams@epsb.ca, mcoteau.mpp.co@liberal.ola.org, Matt.Jeneroux@parl.gc.ca, Murray.Rankin@parl.gc.ca, dorazietti.mpp.co@liberal.ola.org, support@carp.ca, anthony@carp.ca, Patty.Hajdu@parl.gc.ca, Bill.Morneau@parl.gc.ca, john.mccallum@parl.gc.ca, Jody.Wilson-Raybould@parl.gc.ca, info@albertahealthadvocates.ca, ised.minister-ministre.isde@canada.ca, Navdeep.Bains@parl.gc.ca, Michelle.Rempel@parl.gc.ca, palliative.care@ahs.ca, palliative.institute@covenanthealth.ca, cathy.mcleod@parl.gc.ca, Ahmed.Hussen@parl.gc.ca, Elder Advocates Of Alberta Society <elderadv@shaw.ca>



Dear Mr. Trudeau,

I am writing to you about the case of Len Van Heest of Courtenay, B.C. who has been deported by your government.
It is frankly mind boggling to me that this man would be deported for the consequences of mental illness.  As your own family has struggled with mental illness, I would have thought you would have insight into the precarious situation of mentally ill individuals but instead of showing compassion for this man, your government has booted him out.
What about his poor family left here in Canada? How will he manage without supports in the country you have evicted him to?
Does government at all levels have no brains? I am requesting that you personally work to bring this man home. It’s ridiculous that citizens have to correct the misguided decisions of folks we hire to rule the nations.

Sincerely,

Julie Ali


Deportation of bipolar man who came to Canada as baby called 'heartless'

LAURA KANE, THE CANADIAN PRESS  03.09.2017
Deportation of bipolar man who came to Canada as baby called 'heartless'
Lawyer Peter Golden, left to right, Daniel Van Heest and Len Van Heest are seen in this undated handout photo. 59-year-old Len Van Heest was deported to the Netherlands this week despite living in Canada since he was eight months old. THE CANADIAN PRESS/HO-Daniel Van Heest, *MANDATORY CREDIT*
VANCOUVER - Immigration Minister Ahmed Hussen is facing calls to reverse the deportation of a 59-year-old man with bipolar disorder who lived in Canada since he was eight months old.
Len Van Heest of Courtenay, B.C., was deported to the Netherlands this week after a string of criminal convictions for uttering threats, mischief and assault that his lawyer says were linked to his mental illness.
His brother Len Van Heest expressed his anger at judges and immigration officials who allowed the deportation to happen. He said his brother is now in the care of family in the Netherlands with the help of the Salvation Army.
"Needless to say his mental faculties have been stressed to the max," he said. "The system is skewed. Mentally ill people should never be deported. It is wrong."
Lawyer Peter Golden said Van Heest's parents didn't seek citizenship for him. The last time he was in the Netherlands he was in diapers, he doesn't speak Dutch and doesn't know his relatives there.
"However kind and well-meaning they are, the stresses of this whole process of removal will be difficult for him. He hasn't made connections with people very easily in the past."
Van Heest was diagnosed with bipolar disorder when he was 16, said Golden. By the time he was old enough to seek citizenship for himself, he had a criminal record and could not apply.
His last conviction was in 2012. He has been ordered removed from Canada in the past but has previously won stays on deportation, Golden said.
In January, a Federal Court judge rejected Van Heest's challenge of a Canada Border Services Agency officer refusing to defer his removal order. Last week he lost a last-ditch attempt for a stay, and on Monday he was deported to Amsterdam.
"It's really an example of criminalization of mental illness," said Golden. "The criminal justice system isn't designed to deal with people like Len."
He said Van Heest was ensnared by legislation introduced by the former Conservative government in 2012, which banned non-citizens from appealing deportation after being sentenced to six months in jail. Previously, people could appeal if they were sentenced to less than two years.
Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada was unable to respond to questions Wednesday.
The man's 81-year-old mother, Trixie Van Heest, who Golden said has a very close relationship with her son, sounded distraught when reached by phone. She said she could not talk about the matter anymore and hung up.
Former British Columbia premier Ujjal Dosanjh, who also previously served in a federal Liberal cabinet, has written two open letters to the immigration minister about the case.
"It's one of the most mind-boggling things I've seen this government do — totally heartless, without compassion and mercy," Dosanjh said in an interview.
"We can talk about how compassionate we are to refugees. We've now made one of our own a refugee in a different country."
Green party Leader Elizabeth May has also urged the immigration and public safety ministers to take action. She's calling on them to repeal the Conservative legislation.
"This is just a heartbreaking case of harsh, rigid laws that did not allow for a sensible decision," she said. "I do think the ministers should have intervened and I will continue to press them to do something to redress this injustice."
The United Nations human-rights committee criticized Canada in 2015 over a similar case. A 52-year-old Jamaican man with schizophrenia, who had immigrated to Canada as a teenager, was deported in 2011 over criminal convictions.
Wendy Richardson, executive director of the John Howard Society of North Island, which represents northern Vancouver Island, said many people the society works with are involved in the criminal justice system as a result of trauma or mental illness.
"I believe we measure the quality of a society, the value of a society, by how we treat those who are vulnerable," she said.
"I think it speaks poorly of our society that we would send away into a strange world with no supports a man who has lived his entire life here and who has suffered illnesses that were not his fault."
— Follow @ellekane on Twitter.

Mind boggling case shows that the Federal Liberals are just like the Federal Conservatives--unsympathetic to the fate of the mentally ill citizen. Shameful. Utterly shameful. What do you have to say about this Mr. Trudeau?

VANCOUVER - Immigration Minister Ahmed Hussen is facing calls to reverse the deportation of a 59-year-old man with bipolar disorder who lived in Canada since…

LikeShow more reactions
Comment


No comments:

Post a Comment