Monday, February 13, 2017

The fatality reports---: Deaths of prisoners in Alberta (AC429864), #ItsOurData,

#ItsOurData--we even have to wait months and months on getting the fatality reports on dead prisoners in Alberta. It is like living in Russia in Alberta.
From:  Julie Ali   Date: Mon, Feb 13, 2017 at 7:42 AM Subject: Fwd: fatality reports Audry Chudyk report and Carol Pifko To: Ministry of Ju...
READINGCHILDRENSBOOKS.BLOGSPOT.COM|BY JULIE ALI
From: Julie Ali 
Date: Mon, Feb 13, 2017 at 7:42 AM
Subject: Fwd: fatality reports Audry Chudyk report and Carol Pifko
To: Ministry of Justice <ministryofjustice@gov.ab.ca>, justin trudeau <justin.trudeau@parl.gc.ca>, stephanie.cadieux.MLA@leg.bc.ca, hs.ministeris@gov.ab.ca, TracyMacCharles <tmaccharles.mpp.co@liberal.ola.org>, premier@gov.bc.ca, premier@ontario.ca, Office of the Premier <premier@gov.ab.ca>, Airdrie <Airdrie@assembly.ab.ca>, Athabasca SturgeonRedwater <Athabasca.Sturgeon.Redwater@assembly.ab.ca>, Banff Cochrane <Banff.Cochrane@assembly.ab.ca>, Barrhead Morinville Westlock <Barrhead.Morinville.Westlock@assembly.ab.ca>, Battle River-Wainwright <BattleRiver.Wainwright@assembly.ab.ca>, Bonnyville ColdLake <Bonnyville.ColdLake@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Acadia <Calgary.Acadia@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Bow <Calgary.Bow@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Buffalo <Calgary.Buffalo@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Cross <Calgary.Cross@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Currie <Calgary.Currie@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary East <Calgary.East@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Elbow <Calgary.Elbow@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary FishCreek <Calgary.FishCreek@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Foothills <Calgary.Foothills@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Fort <Calgary.Fort@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Glenmore <Calgary.Glenmore@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Greenway <Calgary.Greenway@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Hawkwood <Calgary.Hawkwood@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Hays <Calgary.Hays@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Klein <Calgary.Klein@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Lougheed <Calgary.Lougheed@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Mackay NoseHill <Calgary.Mackay.Nosehill@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary McCall <Calgary.McCall@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary MountainView <Calgary.MountainView@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary NorthWest <Calgary.NorthWest@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary NorthernHills <Calgary.NorthernHills@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Shaw <Calgary.Shaw@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary SouthEast <Calgary.SouthEast@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary Varsity <Calgary.Varsity@assembly.ab.ca>, Calgary West <Calgary.West@assembly.ab.ca>, Cardston TaberWarner <Cardston.TaberWarner@assembly.ab.ca>, Chestermere Rockyview <Chestermere.Rockyview@assembly.ab.ca>, Cypress MedicineHat <Cypress.MedicineHat@assembly.ab.ca>, Drayton ValleyDevon <DraytonValley.Devon@assembly.ab.ca>, Drumheller Stettler <Drumheller.Stettler@assembly.ab.ca>, Dunvegan CentralPeace Notley <Dunvegan.CentralPeace.Notley@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton BeverlyClareview <Edmonton.BeverlyClareview@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Calder <Edmonton.Calder@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Castledowns <Edmonton.Castledowns@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Centre <Edmonton.Centre@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Decore <Edmonton.Decore@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Ellerslie <Edmonton.Ellerslie@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Glenora <Edmonton.Glenora@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Goldbar <Edmonton.Goldbar@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton HighlandsNorwood <Edmonton.HighlandsNorwood@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Manning <Edmonton.Manning@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton McClung <Edmonton.McClung@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Meadowlark <Edmonton.Meadowlark@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton MillCreek <Edmonton.MillCreek@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Millwoods <Edmonton.Millwoods@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Riverview <Edmonton.Riverview@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Rutherford <Edmonton.Rutherford@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton SouthWest <Edmonton.SouthWest@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Strathcona <Edmonton.Strathcona@assembly.ab.ca>, Edmonton Whitemud <Edmonton.Whitemud@assembly.ab.ca>, FortMcMurray Conklin <Fortmcmurray.Conklin@assembly.ab.ca>, FortMcMurray WoodBuffalo <FortMcMurray.WoodBuffalo@assembly.ab.ca>, Fort Saskatchewan Vegreville <FortSaskatchewan.Vegreville@assembly.ab.ca>, GrandePrairie Smoky <GrandePrairie.Smoky@assembly.ab.ca>, GrandePrairie Wapiti <GrandePrairie.Wapiti@assembly.ab.ca>, Highwood <Highwood@assembly.ab.ca>, Innisfail SylvanLake <Innisfail.SylvanLake@assembly.ab.ca>, LacLaBiche StPaul TwoHills <LacLaBiche.StPaul.TwoHills@assembly.ab.ca>, Lacombe Ponoka <Lacombe.Ponoka@assembly.ab.ca>, Leduc Beaumont <Leduc.Beaumont@assembly.ab.ca>, Lesser SlaveLake <Lesser.SlaveLake@assembly.ab.ca>, Lethbridge East <Lethbridge.East@assembly.ab.ca>, Lethbridge West <Lethbridge.West@assembly.ab.ca>, Little Bow <Little.Bow@assembly.ab.ca>, Livingstone Macleod <Livingstone.Macleod@assembly.ab.ca>, Medicine Hat <Medicine.Hat@assembly.ab.ca>, Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills <OldsDidsbury.ThreeHills@assembly.ab.ca>, Peace River <Peace.River@assembly.ab.ca>, RedDeer North <RedDeer.North@assembly.ab.ca>, RedDeer South <RedDeer.South@assembly.ab.ca>, Rimbey RockyMountainHouse Sundre <Rimbey.RockyMountainhouse.Sundre@assembly.ab.ca>, Sherwood Park <Sherwood.Park@assembly.ab.ca>, Spruce Grove StAlbert <Sprucegrove.StAlbert@assembly.ab.ca>, St Albert <St.Albert@assembly.ab.ca>, Stony Plain <Stony.Plain@assembly.ab.ca>, Strathcona Sherwoodpark <Strathcona.Sherwoodpark@assembly.ab.ca>, Strathmore Brooks <Strathmore.Brooks@assembly.ab.ca>, Vermilion Lloydminster <Vermilion.Lloydminster@assembly.ab.ca>, West Yellowhead <West.Yellowhead@assembly.ab.ca>, Wetaskiwin Camrose <Wetaskiwin.Camrose@assembly.ab.ca>, Whitecourt SteAnne <Whitecourt.SteAnne@assembly.ab.ca>, Sarah Hoffman <Sarah.Hoffman@assembly.ab.ca>, Rachel Notley <Rachel.Notley@assembly.ab.ca>, Brian Jean <Brian.Jean@assembly.ab.ca>, ahs.corp@albertahealthservices.ca, Health.Deputy-Minister@gov.ab.ca, health.minister@gov.ab.ca, Jessica Ernst <>, D Daunheimer <>, Stewart Shields <>, Samanthas Law>, investigations@metronews.ca, newsroom@globeandmail.com, Joel French <joel.french@pialberta.org>, Sandra Azocar <fominfo@telus.net>, ahs.board@ahs.ca, submit@calgaryherald.com, Lorne Motley <lmotley@calgaryherald.com>, thomas mulcair <thomas.mulcair@parl.gc.ca>, elizabeth may <elizabeth.may@parl.gc.ca>, jason.kenney@parl.gc.ca, Jane.Philpott@parl.gc.ca, Kent.Hehr@parl.gc.ca, Amarjeet.Sohi@parl.gc.ca, verna.yiu@albertahealthservices.ca, info@oag.ab.ca, Kimberly Nishikaze <knishikaze@oag.ab.ca>, kgerein@postmedia.com, SENIORS AT RISK Coalition <sar.coalition@gmail.com>, stephane.dion@parl.gc.ca, Bryan Anderson <bryan.anderson@edmonton.ca>, don iveson <don.iveson@edmonton.ca>, del graff <del.graff@gov.ab.ca>, ralph.goodale@parl.gc.ca, Deborah.Rhodes@ahs.ca, Isaac.VanDyne@ahs.ca, lorinda.prociuk@ahs.ca, Mark.Snaterse@albertahealthservices.ca, trevor.theman@cpsa.ab.ca, publicinquiries@cpsa.ab.ca, sandy.marcynuk@ahs.ca, gloria.wesley@gov.ab.ca, info@ombudsman.ab.ca, Liberal Canada <info@liberal.ca>, Liberal Correspondence <Liberal.Correspondence@assembly.ab.ca>, Rona Ambrose <rona.ambrose@parl.gc.ca>, Iqra.Khalid@parl.gc.ca, Nick.Whalen@parl.gc.ca, Angelo.Iacono@parl.gc.ca, Arnold.Viersen@parl.gc.ca, Sven.Spengemann@parl.gc.ca, Chandra.Arya@parl.gc.ca, "Danette Andersen, Supervisor" <danette.andersen@epsb.ca>, "Michael Janz, Chairman" <Michael.Janz@epsb.ca>, Cheryl.Johner@epsb.ca, Michelle.Draper@epsb.ca, Orville.Chubb@epsb.ca, Ray.Martin@epsb.ca, Ken.Gibson@epsb.ca, bridget.stirling@epsb.ca, Nathan.Ip@epsb.ca, Sherry.Adams@epsb.ca, mcoteau.mpp.co@liberal.ola.org, Matt.Jeneroux@parl.gc.ca, Murray.Rankin@parl.gc.ca, dorazietti.mpp.co@liberal.ola.org, support@carp.ca, anthony@carp.ca, Patty.Hajdu@parl.gc.ca, Bill.Morneau@parl.gc.ca, john.mccallum@parl.gc.ca, Jody.Wilson-Raybould@parl.gc.ca, info@albertahealthadvocates.ca


Hi,
Can anyone tell me why I can't get the early (historical) reports on deaths of prisoners in a timely fashion but have to wait for months for uploads?
In the past the turnaround time has been within a week or a month. I don't know why anyone should have to wait from September 23, 2016 to now for these reports.
They are all on dead people and they have no privacy issues associated with them.

Has there been a policy change at Alberta Justice that allows for such delayed responses for requests for information?  Please respond so I might file a complaint with the Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner about this unseemly lack of interest by the GOA in providing the public with data we pay for. 

I provide you with a previous request and the lack of a need for an upload to provide this information to me.


Sincerely, 

Julie Ali




From: Julie Ali <
Date: Wed, Feb 17, 2016 at 5:03 PM
Subject: Re: fatality reports Audry Chudyk report and Carol Pifko

To: Jennifer Fuchinsky <Jennifer.Fuchinsky@gov.ab.ca>


Hi Jennifer,
Thank you for your help.

I see no reason why I should go to Covenant Health for this report.

I have instead, asked Alberta Connects for the report. 

If this is a public report the government of Alberta should have it in its possession and should give it to citizens.

I don't believe I need to run around like this to get information that should be directly available to folks.
This poor woman died in 2012. It is 2016. The public still hasn't got this report. Why not? Who knows? 

I also don't know why the fatality reports are removed from the website of government so fast. It should be kept on the website permanently so we don't have to bother you like this. Maybe ask the folks at Justice if they can leave the fatality reports on the website of government in a searchable format so that this information can be obtained directly and quickly. 

Sincerely,  Julie 

On Wed, Feb 17, 2016 at 3:22 PM, Jennifer Fuchinsky <Jennifer.Fuchinsky@gov.ab.ca> wrote:
I’m sorry Ms. Ali, but I have no knowledge of that matter. You can contact Covenant Health directly as follows:



From: Julie Ali [mailto:
Sent: Tuesday, February 16, 2016 8:55 PM
To: Jennifer Fuchinsky
Subject: Re: fatality reports Audry Chudyk report and Carol Pifko

Hi Jennifer,
Thank you.
Where can I go to get the information on Audry Chudyk?
The government has this information and was supposed to release it to the public but I can't find it anywhere. Mr. Horne said he would in the legislature records. But he did not release this information as he promised he would. 
Thanks for your help. Sincerely, Julie 


Alberta Hansard 
Monday, March 5, 2012

 Edmonton General Continuing Care Incident 
(continued) 
Mr. Chase: Thank you, Mr. Speaker. As we were all appalled to 
hear last week, 67-year-old Audry Chudyk, a resident of the 
Edmonton General continuing care centre, was found 
unresponsive and lying in her own feces on February 14. 
Meanwhile, Auditor General Fred Dunn’s 2005 recommendation 
that systems for monitoring the compliance of long-term care 
facilities with basic service standards be improved, while 
accepted, has been ignored for nearly seven years now. To the 
Premier: why have Alberta Health Services’ recommendations, 
that might have saved Audry Chudyk and her family such 
suffering, not been implemented? 
Mr. VanderBurg: You know, it was very clear earlier and it’s 
very clear to all Albertans that if there are safety issues, if there 
are abuse issues, you report it. Everybody here and everybody out 
there has an opportunity to report it, and it’s mandatory. We have 
an obligation to protect seniors together, not to publicize it in here. 
Mr. Chase: Enough of apologies, enough of excuses. Let’s have 
some action. When will the results of the investigation into the 
case, launched by the AHS’s contractor, Covenant Health, be 
released to the public? The damage is done. When will it be 
released? 
Mr. Horne: Mr. Speaker, the results of that investigation will be 
delivered to me by Alberta Health Services when they receive 
them from Covenant Health, and they will be made public. 




On Tue, Feb 16, 2016 at 1:13 PM, Jennifer Fuchinsky <Jennifer.Fuchinsky@gov.ab.ca> wrote:
Hello Julie, the report for Carol Pifko is attached. I have no record of a fatality inquiry into the death of Audry Chudyk.

Jennifer Fuchinsky
Fatality Inquiry Coordinator
Justice and Solicitor General
Legal Services Division
Phone:  780-422-4077

GoA-JSG 2Color RGB 



From: Julie Ali [
Sent: Saturday, February 06, 2016 3:25 PM
To: Jennifer Fuchinsky
Subject: fatality reports Audry Chudyk report and Carol Pifko

Hi,
Can I get the fatality reports on Carol Pifko and Audry Chudyk please?
Thank you, Julie Ali

This email and any files transmitted with it are confidential and intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom they are addressed. If you have received this email in error please notify the system manager. This message contains confidential information and is intended only for the individual named. If you are not the named addressee you should not disseminate, distribute or copy this e-mail.

No comments:

Post a Comment