Thursday, January 5, 2017

Please write to all the folks on this list about the work of Ruth Adria ---Ruth Maria Adria vs. Attorney General of Alberta------- Please note: Apparently because there were no Judges available to hear this matter at 10:00 AM, this will be heard at 1:30 PM instead. Media Information Ruth Maria Adria vs. Attorney General of Alberta Seniors (age) are not included under the Alberta Human Rights Legislation Sections 4 & 5 An Originating Application has been filed at the Alberta Court and served upon the Office of the Attorney General of Alberta We are seeking an Order pursuant to s.52 (1) of the Constitution Act 1982 (a) Reading in the word “age” as a prohibited ground of discrimination in s.4 of the AHRA (b) Reading in the word “age” as a prohibited ground of discrimination in s.5 of the AHRA and such further and other relief a counsel may advise & the Honourable Court may permit Basis for this claim: 1. Section 4 of the Alberta Human Rights Act ,R.S.A. 2000, c.A-25.5 (the AHRA), violates s.15 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms (the Charter). 2. Section 5 of the AHRA violates s.15 of the Charter in that it deprives senior citizens of their right to equal protection and equal benefit of the law without discrimination. ___________________________________________________________ The Charter Rights of over half a million Alberta citizens are being violated by Sections 4 & 5 of the Alberta Human Rights Act in that it deprives them of their right to equal protection and equal benefits of the law without discrimination. Counsel Mr. Allan Garber, Barrister & Solicitor # 8, 17707 105 Avenue Edmonton, AB. T5S 1T1 Ph. (587) 400 9311 TRIAL DATE Law Courts, Edmonton, Court of Queen’s Bench, January 6, 2017 @ 10:00 AM - ______________________________________________________________ Ruth Maria Adria RN (ret.) Elder Advocates of Alberta Society (1992) Box # 76138, Edmonton, AB T6H 5Y1 Ph / Fax (780) 438 8314 elderadv@shaw.ca www.elderadvocates.ca

Please write to all these folks about the work of Ruth Adria:


justin trudeau <justin.trudeau@parl.gc.ca>,
stephanie.cadieux.MLA@leg.bc.ca,
hs.ministeris@gov.ab.ca,
TracyMacCharles <tmaccharles.mpp.co@liberal.ola.org>,
premier@gov.bc.ca,
premier@ontario.ca,
Office of the Premier <premier@gov.ab.ca>,
Airdrie <Airdrie@assembly.ab.ca>,
Athabasca SturgeonRedwater <Athabasca.Sturgeon.Redwater@assembly.ab.ca>,
Banff Cochrane <Banff.Cochrane@assembly.ab.ca>,
Barrhead Morinville Westlock <Barrhead.Morinville.Westlock@assembly.ab.ca>,
Battle River-Wainwright <BattleRiver.Wainwright@assembly.ab.ca>,
Bonnyville ColdLake <Bonnyville.ColdLake@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary Acadia <Calgary.Acadia@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary Bow <Calgary.Bow@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary Buffalo <Calgary.Buffalo@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary Cross <Calgary.Cross@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary Currie <Calgary.Currie@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary East <Calgary.East@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary Elbow <Calgary.Elbow@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary FishCreek <Calgary.FishCreek@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary Foothills <Calgary.Foothills@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary Fort <Calgary.Fort@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary Glenmore <Calgary.Glenmore@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary Greenway <Calgary.Greenway@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary Hawkwood <Calgary.Hawkwood@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary Hays <Calgary.Hays@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary Klein <Calgary.Klein@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary Lougheed <Calgary.Lougheed@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary Mackay NoseHill <Calgary.Mackay.Nosehill@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary McCall <Calgary.McCall@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary MountainView <Calgary.MountainView@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary NorthWest <Calgary.NorthWest@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary NorthernHills <Calgary.NorthernHills@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary Shaw <Calgary.Shaw@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary SouthEast <Calgary.SouthEast@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary Varsity <Calgary.Varsity@assembly.ab.ca>,
Calgary West <Calgary.West@assembly.ab.ca>,
Cardston TaberWarner <Cardston.TaberWarner@assembly.ab.ca>,
Chestermere Rockyview <Chestermere.Rockyview@assembly.ab.ca>,
Cypress MedicineHat <Cypress.MedicineHat@assembly.ab.ca>,
Drayton ValleyDevon <DraytonValley.Devon@assembly.ab.ca>,
Drumheller Stettler <Drumheller.Stettler@assembly.ab.ca>,
Dunvegan CentralPeace Notley <Dunvegan.CentralPeace.Notley@assembly.ab.ca>,
Edmonton BeverlyClareview <Edmonton.BeverlyClareview@assembly.ab.ca>,
Edmonton Calder <Edmonton.Calder@assembly.ab.ca>,
Edmonton Castledowns <Edmonton.Castledowns@assembly.ab.ca>,
Edmonton Centre <Edmonton.Centre@assembly.ab.ca>,
Edmonton Decore <Edmonton.Decore@assembly.ab.ca>,
Edmonton Ellerslie <Edmonton.Ellerslie@assembly.ab.ca>,
Edmonton Glenora <Edmonton.Glenora@assembly.ab.ca>,
Edmonton Goldbar <Edmonton.Goldbar@assembly.ab.ca>,
Edmonton HighlandsNorwood <Edmonton.HighlandsNorwood@assembly.ab.ca>,
Edmonton Manning <Edmonton.Manning@assembly.ab.ca>,
Edmonton McClung <Edmonton.McClung@assembly.ab.ca>,
Edmonton Meadowlark <Edmonton.Meadowlark@assembly.ab.ca>,
Edmonton MillCreek <Edmonton.MillCreek@assembly.ab.ca>,
Edmonton Millwoods <Edmonton.Millwoods@assembly.ab.ca>,
Edmonton Riverview <Edmonton.Riverview@assembly.ab.ca>,
Edmonton Rutherford <Edmonton.Rutherford@assembly.ab.ca>,
Edmonton SouthWest <Edmonton.SouthWest@assembly.ab.ca>,
Edmonton Strathcona <Edmonton.Strathcona@assembly.ab.ca>,
Edmonton Whitemud <Edmonton.Whitemud@assembly.ab.ca>,
FortMcMurray Conklin <Fortmcmurray.Conklin@assembly.ab.ca>,
FortMcMurray WoodBuffalo <FortMcMurray.WoodBuffalo@assembly.ab.ca>,
Fort Saskatchewan Vegreville <FortSaskatchewan.Vegreville@assembly.ab.ca>,
GrandePrairie Smoky <GrandePrairie.Smoky@assembly.ab.ca>,
GrandePrairie Wapiti <GrandePrairie.Wapiti@assembly.ab.ca>,
Highwood <Highwood@assembly.ab.ca>,
Innisfail SylvanLake <Innisfail.SylvanLake@assembly.ab.ca>,
LacLaBiche StPaul TwoHills <LacLaBiche.StPaul.TwoHills@assembly.ab.ca>,
Lacombe Ponoka <Lacombe.Ponoka@assembly.ab.ca>,
Leduc Beaumont <Leduc.Beaumont@assembly.ab.ca>,
Lesser SlaveLake <Lesser.SlaveLake@assembly.ab.ca>,
Lethbridge East <Lethbridge.East@assembly.ab.ca>,
Lethbridge West <Lethbridge.West@assembly.ab.ca>,
Little Bow <Little.Bow@assembly.ab.ca>,
Livingstone Macleod <Livingstone.Macleod@assembly.ab.ca>,
Medicine Hat <Medicine.Hat@assembly.ab.ca>,
Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills <OldsDidsbury.ThreeHills@assembly.ab.ca>,
Peace River <Peace.River@assembly.ab.ca>,
RedDeer North <RedDeer.North@assembly.ab.ca>,
RedDeer South <RedDeer.South@assembly.ab.ca>,
Rimbey RockyMountainHouse Sundre <Rimbey.RockyMountainhouse.Sundre@assembly.ab.ca>,
Sherwood Park <Sherwood.Park@assembly.ab.ca>,
Spruce Grove StAlbert <Sprucegrove.StAlbert@assembly.ab.ca>,
St Albert <St.Albert@assembly.ab.ca>,
Stony Plain <Stony.Plain@assembly.ab.ca>,
Strathcona Sherwoodpark <Strathcona.Sherwoodpark@assembly.ab.ca>,
Strathmore Brooks <Strathmore.Brooks@assembly.ab.ca>,
Vermilion Lloydminster <Vermilion.Lloydminster@assembly.ab.ca>,
West Yellowhead <West.Yellowhead@assembly.ab.ca>,
Wetaskiwin Camrose <Wetaskiwin.Camrose@assembly.ab.ca>,
Whitecourt SteAnne <Whitecourt.SteAnne@assembly.ab.ca>,
Sarah Hoffman <Sarah.Hoffman@assembly.ab.ca>,
Rachel Notley <Rachel.Notley@assembly.ab.ca>,
Brian Jean <Brian.Jean@assembly.ab.ca>,
ahs.corp@albertahealthservices.ca,
Health.Deputy-Minister@gov.ab.ca,
health.minister@gov.ab.ca,

investigations@metronews.ca,
newsroom@globeandmail.com,
Joel French <joel.french@pialberta.org>,
Sandra Azocar <fominfo@telus.net>,
ahs.board@ahs.ca,
submit@calgaryherald.com,
Lorne Motley <lmotley@calgaryherald.com>,
thomas mulcair <thomas.mulcair@parl.gc.ca>,
elizabeth may <elizabeth.may@parl.gc.ca>,
jason.kenney@parl.gc.ca,
Jane.Philpott@parl.gc.ca,
Kent.Hehr@parl.gc.ca,
Amarjeet.Sohi@parl.gc.ca,
verna.yiu@albertahealthservices.ca,
info@oag.ab.ca,
Kimberly Nishikaze <knishikaze@oag.ab.ca>,
kgerein@postmedia.com,
SENIORS AT RISK Coalition <sar.coalition@gmail.com>,
stephane.dion@parl.gc.ca,
Bryan Anderson <bryan.anderson@edmonton.ca>,
don iveson <don.iveson@edmonton.ca>,
del graff <del.graff@gov.ab.ca>,
ralph.goodale@parl.gc.ca,
Deborah.Rhodes@ahs.ca,
Isaac.VanDyne@ahs.ca,
lorinda.prociuk@ahs.ca,
Mark.Snaterse@albertahealthservices.ca,
trevor.theman@cpsa.ab.ca,
publicinquiries@cpsa.ab.ca,
sandy.marcynuk@ahs.ca,
gloria.wesley@gov.ab.ca,
info@ombudsman.ab.ca,
Liberal Canada <info@liberal.ca>,
Liberal Correspondence <Liberal.Correspondence@assembly.ab.ca>,
Rona Ambrose <rona.ambrose@parl.gc.ca>,
Iqra.Khalid@parl.gc.ca,
Nick.Whalen@parl.gc.ca,
Angelo.Iacono@parl.gc.ca,
Arnold.Viersen@parl.gc.ca,
Sven.Spengemann@parl.gc.ca,
Chandra.Arya@parl.gc.ca,
"Danette Andersen, Supervisor" <danette.andersen@epsb.ca>,
"Michael Janz, Chairman" <Michael.Janz@epsb.ca>,
Cheryl.Johner@epsb.ca,
Michelle.Draper@epsb.ca,
Orville.Chubb@epsb.ca,
Ray.Martin@epsb.ca,
Ken.Gibson@epsb.ca,
bridget.stirling@epsb.ca,
Nathan.Ip@epsb.ca,
Sherry.Adams@epsb.ca,
mcoteau.mpp.co@liberal.ola.org,
Matt.Jeneroux@parl.gc.ca,
Murray.Rankin@parl.gc.ca,
dorazietti.mpp.co@liberal.ola.org,
support@carp.ca,
anthony@carp.ca,
Patty.Hajdu@parl.gc.ca,
Bill.Morneau@parl.gc.ca,
john.mccallum@parl.gc.ca,
jwood@postmedia.com,
Seniors.minister@gov.ab.ca,
Elder Advocates Of Alberta Society <elderadv@shaw.ca>

Newspapers:




investigations@metronews.ca,
newsroom@globeandmail.com,
Joel French <joel.french@pialberta.org>,
Sandra Azocar <fominfo@telus.net>,
submit@calgaryherald.com,

kgerein@postmedia.com,
SENIORS AT RISK Coalition <sar.coalition@gmail.com>,
trevor.theman@cpsa.ab.ca,
publicinquiries@cpsa.ab.ca,
info@ombudsman.ab.ca,

support@carp.ca,
anthony@carp.ca,
jwood@postmedia.com,
Seniors.minister@gov.ab.ca,
psimons@edmontonjournal.com,

lmotley@postmedia.com,
bwilkinson@postmedia.com,
egraney@postmedia.com,
jrodriguez@postmedia.com,
dmarsden@postmedia.com,
bbachynski@greatwest.ca,
cmartindale@stalbert.greatwest.ca,
editorial@reddeeradvocate.com,
hmunro@postmedia.com,
sunnewstips@vancouversun.com,
citydesk@thestarphoenix.com,
dave.breakenridge@sunmedia.ca,
city.desk@freepress.mb.ca,
city@thestar.ca,
Jdm.transmission@quebecormedia.com,
lchodan@postmedia.com,
kevin.hann@sunmedia.ca,
vantips@postmedia.com,
mirichardson@postmedia.com,
newsroom@herald.ca,
news@thespec.com,
localnews@timescolonist.com,
joe.ruscitti@sunmedia.ca,
evanwageningen@postmedia.com,
newsroom@therecord.com,
rick.bell@sunmedia.ca,
cal-news@sunmedia.ca,



Please note:
Apparently because there were no Judges available to hear this matter at 10:00 AM, this will be heard at 1:30 PM instead.

Media Information

Ruth Maria Adria vs. Attorney General of Alberta

Seniors (age) are not included under the Alberta Human Rights 
Legislation Sections 4 & 5

 An Originating Application has been filed at the Alberta Court and served upon the
Office of  the Attorney General of Alberta

We are seeking an Order pursuant to s.52 (1) of the Constitution Act 1982

 (a)   Reading in the word “age” as a prohibited ground of 
discrimination in s.4 of the AHRA

(b)   Reading in the word “age” as a prohibited ground of 
discrimination in s.5 of the AHRA

and such further and other relief a counsel may advise & the 
Honourable Court may permit

Basis for this claim:

1.   Section 4 of the Alberta Human Rights Act ,R.S.A. 2000, c.A-25.5 (the AHRA), 
violates s.15 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms (the Charter).

 2.   Section 5 of the AHRA violates s.15 of the Charter in that it deprives senior citizens 
of their right to equal protection and equal benefit of the law without discrimination.
___________________________________________________________

The Charter Rights of over half a million Alberta citizens are being violated by Sections 4 & 5 
of the Alberta Human Rights Act in that it deprives them  of their right to equal protection and equal
benefits of the law without discrimination.

Counsel
Mr. Allan Garber, Barrister & Solicitor
# 8, 17707  105 Avenue
Edmonton, AB. T5S 1T1

TRIAL DATE
Law Courts, Edmonton, Court of Queen’s Bench, January 6, 2017 @ 10:00 AM -
______________________________________________________________
Ruth Maria Adria RN (ret.)
Elder Advocates of Alberta Society (1992)
Box # 76138, Edmonton, AB T6H 5Y1
Ph / Fax (780) 438 8314 


Julie Ali
2 mins
Silence is complicit folks. Ruth Adria of the Elder Advocates of Alberta Society has not stayed silent. She has been sued and harassed. They have fined her and taken her out of nursing homes in hand cuffs. She has stood up to the big bullies in the GOA decade after decade to make a factual record of the abuse, harm suffered by seniors and the fatalities. We not only have information about what the GOA failed to do in terms of oversight but we also see how our most vulnerable citizens including our handicapped citizens, the mentally ill and those in prison are suffering. Without Ruth Adria there would be no help for folks who face retribution in the continuing care system in Alberta because the GOA doesn't care about the problems of families -it is part of the problem.
Why is the GOA unable to provide oversight to that families have to go public with horrific neglect, abuse and death cases? Maybe because the GOA has set up the continuing care system so that families will have to bargain with care providers? Maybe the GOA has downloaded care to the private sector? Maybe seniors have no rights by design?
The placebo advocates offices --health advocates, seniors advocate, mental health advocate and the PPIC Office are all useless. We have no legislation that protects seniors. This is why this lawsuit is significant and we should all pay attention to the work of Ruth Adria.
Why has she struggled so long while the GOA did nothing? I guess we know why. The GOA isn't interested in families. The GOA is only interested in maintaining a fiction of good performance with reference to seniors that even the supporters of the NDP folks in the GOA will say is a fiction. We have been betrayed by the NDP in the GOA. And all we have left is the work of human rights champions like Ruth Adria.
LikeShow more reactions
Comment

No comments:

Post a Comment